

ROYSTON TOWN COUNCIL

6 May 2025

To all Members of the Royston Town Council

Dear Councillor

The Annual Meeting of Royston Town Council is to be held in the Heritage Hall, Town Hall, Royston, at **7.30pm on Monday 12**th **May 2025** for the transaction of the business set out below and you are summoned to attend. Please let me know if you are unable to attend.

Members of the public and press are welcome to attend any of the Council's Full Council or Committee meetings and listen to the debate. All agendas, reports and minutes can be viewed on the Council's website www.roystontowncouncil.gov.uk. This meeting may be recorded

Yours sincerely,

David Ashlee

David Ashlee Locum Proper Officer

Rev Dr Steven Sivyer from Royston Parish Church, St John the Baptist will lead the meeting in prayer.

AGENDA

- 1. Election of Town Mayor for 2025/26.
- 2. To receive the Town Mayor's Declaration of Acceptance of office for the ensuing year. The Town Mayor to address the Council outlining their plans for the year.
- 3. To appoint a Deputy Town Mayor and receive their Declaration of Acceptance of office for the ensuing year.
- 4. To receive apologies for absence.
- 5. Declarations of interest and dispensations.
 - a. To receive declarations of interest from councillors on items on the agenda;
 - b. To receive written requests for dispensations for interests; and
 - c. To grant any requests for dispensation as appropriate.
- 6. Minutes of the last Council Meeting -

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 24th March 2025 (minutes 279/25 to 290/25, copy enclosed).

7. To confirm the appointment of Paul Arnill MBE as Chief Officer of Royston Town Council

8. To appoint Standing Committees and Chair and Vice Chair for the ensuing year: -

- a. Finance Committee (10 Members) Cllrs Anthony (Chair), Harrison (Vice-Chair), Haugh, Adams, Brown, Langdon, Rees, Lockett, Squire-Smith, Jani
- b. Planning Committee (10 Members) Cllrs Beardwell (Chair), Lockett (Vice-Chair), Haugh, Adams, Freeman, Jani, Squire-Smith, Johnson, Compton, Inwood
- c. GP & Highways (10 members) Cllrs Harrison (Chair), Rees, Anthony, Beardwell, Brown, Inwood, Freeman, Langdon, Compton, Johnson
- **9. To appoint HR Committee and Chair for the ensuing year –** Cllrs Rees (Chair), Harrison, Anthony, Adams

10. To appoint Councillors to Working Parties for the ensuing year

- a. Climate & Biodiversity Working Party
- b. Events Working Party
- c. Communications Working Party
- d. Markets Advisory Committee Cllr Rees
- e. Cave Advisory Committee

11. To appoint representatives to the following external bodies for the ensuing year: -

- a. Royston Community Transport Cllr Adams
- b. Royston Day Centre Cllr Harrison
- c. Royston Army Cadet Force Cllr Adams
- d. Royston & District Scouts Council Cllr Squire-Smith
- e. Royston & District Town Twinning Association Mayor
- f. Conservators of Therfield Heath Cllr Brown
- g. Home Start Royston, Buntingford & South Cambridgeshire Cllr Adams
- h. Royston Museum Trust CIO (3)
- i. Creative Royston
- j. Sustainable Travel Town Joint Member Group (2) Cllr Harrison
- k. Plastic Free Royston
- I. Royston Girl Guiding Cllr Squire-Smith
- m. Coombes Community Centre Cllr Adams
- n. Armed Services Covenant Cllr Harrison

12. To receive and approve the Schedule of Full Council and Standing Committee Meetings up to the next Annual Council Meeting (copy enclosed).

13. HAPTC Executive Committee:

Members are to approve the nomination of Councillor Harrison for election to the HAPTC Executive Committee.

Date of next meeting: Monday 30th June 2025