Royston Town Council
Working Together

Town Council NEWS - Contact us - Vacancies Diary, Agendas, Minutes, Halls & Rooms for Hire Whats On/Clubs & Organisations Royston Market Town Mayor's Community Trust Finance Reports Newsletters Annual Report Grants available Royston & District Museum Royston Area Accommodation Guide Royston Cave Town Twinning Royston In Bloom Consultation Town Guide - Links History of Royston War Memorials Allotments

Royston Town Council
Working Together

View on-line at:

Welcome to the Royston Town Council Official Web-site

Royston Town Council Crest

 Royston Town Council came into being in 1974 as a result of local government reorganisation. The Coat of Arms was granted to Royston Urban District Council in 1952 and pass the to the Town Council in 1974 and carries the motto: A bonis ad meliora.  This means: From good things to better. The Coat of Arms is prominent on the council's chain of office. 

15 members are elected every four years to serve on the Town Council. The Mayor of Royston is elected each May and serves for a year. 
Town CrierRoyston is proud to have its own Town Crier.  The current town crier Graham Pfaff has been in post since 2003. The post of Town Crier is an honorary one with a long historic tradition in the town. He has become a popular and well known figure in the town as, in full uniform and bell in hand, he “cries” for various civic and charity events

Quality Council LogoIn December 2011 Royston Town Council was re-accredited with the nationally recognised status of Quality Town Council. This Award confirms that Royston Town Council is run in accordance with the high standards required by the National Association of Local Councils and other government bodies.

In achieving Quality Status, we have demonstrated that we are an active, professional, and a competent body to work with and performing above national minimum standards. It gives the council a greater credibility in the eyes of the local community, voluntary and private sectors and the principle local authority. 

What is the Quality Parish and Town Council Scheme?

The Quality Parish and Town Council scheme was launched in June 2003, following the publication of the Governments Rural White Paper, 2000. The scheme was designed to provide benchmark minimum standards for parish and town councils and to enable them to better represent the communities they serve. The scheme also aims to give enhanced relationships between local councils, principal authorities and community and voluntary sector organisations.

General Information on Royston Town Council

Becoming a Councillor leaflet

Committees: Ten members serve on each of the principal committees   
Councillor F John Smith-Chair
Councillor John Davison-Vice Chair
Councillor Les Baker
Councillor Peter Burt
Councillor Lindsay Davidson
Councillor Mike Harrison
Councillor Mark Hughes
Councillor Victoria Hulstrom-Allen
Councillor Rod Kennedy
Councillor Ben Lewis
General Purposes & Highways:

Councillor Mike Harrison-Chair
Councillor Peter Burt Vice-Chair
Councillor Les Baker
Councillor Sarah Dingley
Councillor Robert Inwood
Councillor Mark Hughes
Councillor Ben Lewis
Councillor Paula McGlynn
Councillor Vera Swallow
Councillor Rita Turner
Councillor Lindsay Davidson-Chair
Councillor John Davison-Vice-chair
Councillor Sarah Dingley
Councillor Robert Inwood
Councillor Rod Kennedy
Councillor Victoria Hulstrom-Allen
Councillor Paula McGlynn
Councillor F John Smith
Councillor Vera Swalllow
Councillor Rita Turner

All planning applications relating to Royston are available in paper format at the Town Council office for viewing or at

Members also serve on the Museum Advisory Sub-Committee, the Town Council Properties Sub-Committee,  Royston in Bloom Working Party and the May Fayre Committee. 

The Leete Charity Trust  - Royston Town Council is the sole Trustee of The Leete Charity Trust  and members serve on the Committee to adminster the fund. The Charity provide grants towards further education for students who live or attend school in Royston.
Download Application formalso available from the Royston Town Council offices at the Town Hall.

The Council has a number of policies that facilitate the running and management of the Town Council,  its employees and assets. A relevant selection of these may be accessed by clicking on the following:

Code of Conduct  - Localism Act 2011
Complaints Procedure 
Records Management Policy
Equal Opportunities
Freedom of Information  - Publication Policy -  downloaded here;
Statement of Intent Community Engagement: download here:

Properties Owned by Royston Town Council

War Memorial, Melbourn St, Royston
Royston Cave, Melbourn St, Royston

30 Kneesworth Street (Leased as a Dental Surgery)

Stile Plantation, Royston 
Green Walk Plantation, Royston 

The Allotments, Green St, Royston

 Market Hill Rooms, Fish Hill, Royston                  Town Hall Melbourn St, Royston       
Town Hall Royston     





  Available for Hire
  Market Hill Rooms
   Town Hall - Heritage and Hardwicke Hall, and various rooms

Contact Town hall office 01763 245484

 Useful Links